titlebar

ASHHRA Webinars

Webinars are excellent learning opportunities led by ASHHRA members and partners with specific expertise in the health care HR profession.Click on the titles below to learn more about each webinar.

ASHHRA Webinar


Interested in hosting a webinar? Download the Webinar Hosting Form PDF


Profiles in Excellence: Quality Improvement Lessons from the 2014 AHA-McKesson Quest for Quality Prize® Recipients Webinar Series

The AHA-McKesson Quest for Quality Prize® annually honors hospitals and health systems that continually work toward the Institute of Medicine's six quality aims—safety, patient-centeredness, effectiveness, efficiency, timeliness and equity. These organizations have demonstrated progress in achieving multiple aims and provide replicable models for the health care field.

We invite you to join us for a pair of webinars this fall to learn more about the innovative strategies and initiatives of our 2014 Quest for Quality Prize recipients.

Part 1 — Thursday, October 30, 2014
4:00-5:00 pm ET (3:00-4:00 pm CT)

  • Moderator: Gary Yates, MD, President of Healthcare Performance Improvement, President of Sentara Healthcare Quality Care Network and Chairman of the AHA-McKesson Quest for Quality Prize® committee
  • 2014 AHA-McKesson Quest for Quality Prize® finalist Carolinas Medical Center – NorthEast in Concord, N.C.
  • 2014 AHA-McKesson Quest for Quality Prize® winner VCU Medical Center in Richmond, Va.

To register for this webinar, click here.

Part 2 — Monday, November 24, 2014
4:00-5:00 pm ET (3:00-4:00 pm CT)

  • Moderator: Gary Yates, MD, President of Healthcare Performance Improvement, President of Sentara Healthcare Quality Care Network, and Chairman of the AHA-McKesson Quest for Quality Prize® committee
  • 2014 AHA-McKesson Quest for Quality Prize® citation of merit recipient University of Wisconsin Hospital and Clinics in Madison, Wis.
  • Citation of merit recipient Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston, S.C.
  • Citation of merit recipient Richard L. Roudebush VA Medical Center in Indianapolis

To register for this webinar, click here.

Each program will include a presentation about the organization's award-winning initiatives from key executives and leaders, as well as a question-and-answer session. More information on these organizations can be found here.

These webinars are available free of charge, but advance registration is required. If you have any questions, please contact us at hpoe@aha.org.

HPOE Live! is an American Hospital Association webinar series that highlights leading strategies and innovations in performance improvement that are being championed today in America's hospitals and health systems. It is produced by Hospitals in Pursuit of Excellence, the AHA's strategic platform that provides field-tested practices, tools, education and other networking resources to accelerate performance improvement and delivery system transformation in the nation's hospitals and health systems. Keep an eye out for future emails announcing upcoming webinars in the series.

back to top


Creating Exceptional Physician-Nurse Dyads: Using Collaborative Partnerships to Raise the Standard of Care and Improve the Overall Patient Experience
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
2:00 p.m. ET, 1:00 p.m. CT, 12:00 p.m. MT, 11:00 a.m. PT
(60 minutes with live Q&A)

Register Now

Team-based health care delivery is the foundation where health care transformation is based. Successful physician-nurse dyads are an effective method for ensuring the delivery of integrated and coordinated care. Presenters Alan J. Conrad, MD, a practicing primary care physician and medical director at Palomar Health in San Diego County, and Tracy Duberman, PhD, CEO and founder, The Leadership Development Group, Inc., will share the story of one health system's journey to creating collaborative partnerships through a dyad activation process that raised the standard of care and improved the overall patient experience.

The session will offer a case study focusing on Palomar Health's journey through an applied physician leadership academy that included physicians, nurse leaders, and administrators to drive alignment and facilitate a team-based care approach. The session will highlight one of the dyad activation projects titled "No Physician Rounds Alone," which was designed for one unit and later leveraged across the organization. Results of the partnership activation project included enhanced physician/nursing collaboration and improved patient, physician and employee engagement.

Registration:
Click here to register. There is no charge for participation.

Questions:
Contact Dan Paloski at (312) 422-2914 or physicianforum@aha.org.

About Palomar Health
Palomar Health, a California Health Care District health system covers an 850-square mile area and is the largest hospital district in California. It includes the 288-bed Palomar Medical Center in Escondido, 319-bed Palomar Health Downtown Campus in Escondido and 107-bed Pomerado Hospital in Poway. Palomar Health provides a full spectrum of health services, with state-of-the-art hospitals, birth centers, rehabilitation, sub-acute and long-term care centers, plus home health care and hospice services. The mission of Palomar Health is to heal, comfort and promote health in the communities we serve. For more information, visit www.palomarhealth.org.

About the The Leadership Development Group
The Leadership Development Group (TLD Group) is a nationally recognized healthcare leadership development firm specializing in executive and physician leadership assessment & coaching, group leadership development and organizational development consulting. TLD Group offers ground-breaking executive and physician leadership programs to prepare leaders to become change agents in their organizations. To learn more about The Leadership Development Group's Physician Leadership programs visit www.tldgroupinc.com.

About the Physician Leadership Forum:
As part of the American Hospital Association's (AHA) ongoing mission to improve the health of patients and communities, AHA introduced the Physician Leadership Forum to engage and partner with physicians to collaboratively advance excellence in patient care. AHA's Physician Leadership Forum also seeks to gather input from physicians to inform AHA policy and advocacy efforts while advancing physician leadership within the health care delivery system. For more information, visit www.ahaphysicianforum.org.

back to top


The Importance of Empowering High Performers in Your Organization
Featuring the Southwest General Leadership Program
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
1:00 p.m. ET, 12:00 p.m. CT, 11:00 a.m. MT, 10:00 a.m. PT
Virtual Signature Learning Series
Register Now

This has been approved for 1.0 HRCI Recertification renewal hour and 1.0 CHHR recertification hour.

Do you have top talent your organization wants to grow, develop and retain?

Southwest General Health Center of Ohio has been training managers on basic leadership skills since early in 2006. Each year, Southwest has become increasingly aware of the need to provide training and leadership opportunities for all employees — but especially high performers.

To allow its high performers to more effectively execute their own leadership potential and enhance department performance, Southwest developed the EDGE Program (Educate, Develop, Guide, Enhance).

In this webinar, Southwest General’s director of staffing and volunteer services shares the steps of the EDGE Program and highlights the importance of using behavioral assessments in the process. Learn valuable insight into the health center’s process and how you can implement a similar program.

Attendees Will Learn How to:

  • Plan an employee leadership development program
  • Benefit from the valuable feedback obtained from behavioral assessments
  • Guide high performers’ professional development using the assessment feedback results

Speaker:
Joni Edwards is a graduate of Ohio University with a Bachelor of Science in Health Care Administration and Baldwin Wallace University with a Master’s of Business Administration in Human Resources. She has over ten years of human resource experience and is currently the Director of Staffing and Volunteer Services at Southwest General Hospital in Cleveland, Ohio. Southwest General is a 354 bed hospital with 2,600 employees. Southwest General has received the 100 Top Hospitals® Award from Thomson Reuters for six consecutive years and has also been named one of Northeast Ohio's top 99 employers by Employers Resource Council for the ten straight years in a row.

back to top


SAFER Guides: What You Need to Know
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
3:00 p.m. ET, 2:00 p.m. CT, 1:00 p.m. MT, 12:00 p.m. PT
Register Now

This webinar will introduce and explain the ONC-sponsored SAFER guides, which can be found at http://www.healthit.gov/safer/safer-guides. The SAFER guides consist of nine guides that enable health care organizations to address EHR safety in a variety of areas. The guides identify recommended practices to optimize the safety and safe use of EHRs and provide a self-assessment to determine an organization's degree of conformance to the recommended practices. By the end of this webinar you will be able to:

Objectives:

  • Understand the content within the SAFER guides as well as the importance of the guides to your organization's electronic health record (EHR)-related safety
  • Implement the guides successfully and meaningfully across all EHR-related areas of your organization
Presenters:
  • Hardeep Singh, MD, MPH is Chief of the Health Policy, Quality & Informatics program at the Houston Veterans Affairs Center for Innovations in Quality, Effectiveness and Safety
  • Dean F. Sitting, PhD, is a Professor at UTHealth School of Biomedical Informatics (SBMI)

This webinar is available free of charge but advanced registration is required. To register click here.

back to top


University Hospitals' Journey to Increase Diversity in Leadership and Reduce Health Care Disparities
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
2:30 p.m. ET, 1:30 p.m. CT, 12:30 p.m. MT, 11:30 a.m. PT

 

Featuring
Heidi Gartland, M.H.A.
Vice President of Government and Community Relations
University Hospitals, Cleveland, OH

This webinar, held in conjunction with the AHA's Hospitals in Pursuit of Excellence (HPOE), will feature Institute member University Hospitals, recognized this year as a finalist for the AHA's inaugural Equity of Care award. University Hospitals is renowned for many programs that have helped their health system to increase diversity in its leadership and governance, as well as efforts to reduce disparities in health care.

Heidi Gartland, University Hospitals' vice president of government and community relations, will discuss the numerous initiatives and programs that have been implemented and specific outcomes the health system has achieved.

Click here to register.

Registration Procedure:

The registration process for the Institute's Diversity Dialogues allows you to sign up and receive dial-in instructions in one easy step. To view the registration instructions, please click here.

Note: Your organization's membership number and/or your individual member number are NOT needed for webinar registration, account creation or when you are accessing your account on eweb. Only your email address is required. Refer to the registration procedures by clicking here for additional information.

You may contact Pamela Janniere directly at (312) 422-2691 or pjanniere@aha.org to receive the dial in and web link information, particularly if you would like to invite a large group of employees to the event.

back to top


ASHHRA Members: click here to access FREE replay links to some past webinars.

Webinar Sponsorship Opportunities
Maximize opportunities to educate and connect with ASHHRA members by hosting an ASHHRA webinar.
Download the
2014 Webinar Hosting Form PDF

back to top


Is there a webinar topic that you would like ASHHRA to offer?
Contact ASHHRA today and let us know what topics you would like to learn more about.

back to top